Post Format

I will if you will…

Leave a Reply

This is a new experiment.

I have finally figured out that as much as I love to write, as much as the words come into my brain and clamor for a page to live on, I am not one of those writers who lives to write.  Or writes to live.  I know some artists need to create like they need to pee.  I like to pee in private, but I like to write for other people.

Which means that many of my projects go unfinished, lingering like the wilting mixed baby greens in my fridge.  I start with a bang and end with a — well, I don’t really end.  It just…

So I was thinking.  Maybe if I committed myself to a topic we can all usually find something to say about, and if I agree to post twice a week, and if I make it about something bigger than myself, maybe — just maybe — the folks who love me will not just read – but converse – with me about it?  Maybe it can become….something?

The topic I’ve chosen is one that I think will garner many a comment – the indisputable battle of the bulge.  But the approach I want to take is one of war.  I know why I gained almost ten pounds since the holidays (thank you, chocolate covered pretzels).  But now, I want to understand why I can’t get it off.  And why, like my 80 year old father, I want to nap in my armchair at 2:00 every afternoon.  Or why some days I am mentally fuzzy.  Or why I am starting to resemble everything that, when I was 15, I thought a 42 year-old mother of 2 should look like, and what I was sure I would NEVER be.

So, I am going to commit to the following, and I hope you will commit with me:

1. I will write a minimum of 2 posts per week.

2. I will do my best to journal what I am eating and how I am feeling, primarily because I want to begin to chart this.  I want to live a life that is healthy, vibrant and beautiful, and I will not go down the path of aging without a fight, damn it.  I want a beautiful life.

3. I ask you for accountability.  If I don’t post, ask me why.  Read and respond.  Get involved in my quest for fitness and share with me yours.

4. I will schedule a check-up with a doctor, a nutritionist and a personal trainer, as I can afford them, and report back what they say.

5. I will invite guest bloggers to chime in.  I already have some in mind.

Disclaimer:

If you plan on reading this blog, please understand I will often digress into areas of family (crazy), my Mary Kay business (love it), my faith (I’m a Jesus freak – get over it), women’s rights (my great-grandmother was a suffragette) and anything else I feel fit to write about.  It’s my blog, after all.  If you don’t like it, get your own.  I will try to keep it positive, though, unless you make me mad.  Good luck with that.

Posted by

Sold out Jesus-freak, mom of 2, wife, Christian Life Coach and speaker, friend-in-need-of-grace, writer of stuff.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

