Post Format

The Big Business of Health

Leave a Reply

For a middle-aged woman, the search for wellness does not come cheap.

Here’s the thing.  No matter what I do, I seem to keep gaining weight. Weight Watchers, giving up wheat, eating more lettuce, protein shakes, exercise.

I might take a few pounds off here and there but soon enough the pendulum swings even further to the right, and my goal weight is even further and further away.  And it all seems to be going straight to my middle — the place where, apparently, it sets me up for all sorts of fun stuff like diabetes and heart issues.  I suddenly see my body morphing into my mother’s, and that terrifies me.

Before I had kids, I was hot.  Seriously.  I had a smokin’ body.  But I also was on a schedule that allowed me to leisurely make salads to bring to work, to take a lunch-time power walk and an after-work run.  Now, I have to squeeze working out into an already packed day and it often gets the last little bits of my energy, focus and time.  And eating healthfully gets more difficult the busier I get.

Now, I know that much of this is my responsibility.  I have the same 24 hours that everyone else does, and I am in control of it.  I get frustrated with myself because I know all the things I am supposed to be doing but can’t seem to do them with any consistency.  I am hoping that this week, I can at least journal with enough consistency so I can see the places I go wrong.  I am also hoping that delving into my recovery as a codependent (instead of just trying to survive codependency, as I’ve done in the past) will help me in this area, too.

I suspect part of the problem is my age.  I’d love to get a full work-up, to see what sort of craziness my hormones are causing and how my nutrition stacks up.  But I’m not sure my primary care physician, whoever he might be, would do more that palpate my neck and call it a day.  So I checked out this website .  I drive by this place every day when I bring my son to school, and it intrigued me, so I looked them up.

They offer things like Bio-Identical Hormone therapy and IV Nutritional Testing, as well as the HCG Diet.  While I believe all these things could be extremely effective, I don’t believe any of these things to be sustainable for any amount of time, if for no other reason than the price.  An initial consultation is in the $400 range — no insurance accepted — and you pretty much have to sign up for a year, at a cost of anywhere from $1000 to $1600.

Not that I would partake in any of these therapies.  I don’t want to be on hormones or be tied to an IV on a regular basis, nor do I wish to consume just 500 calories a day while receiving injections of placental cells (I’m pretty sure I have an ethical objection to that).  Still, it would be nice to have these people do a workup on me, just to see where I’m at, nutritionally, hormonally, etc., and to find out if there’s something out of whack that’s making me gain this girth.

So, after I’m done saving for vacation and the new floor, I’ll put aside some money and maybe go see these folks.

Or maybe I’ll just go to the gym.  They have a steam room.

Posted by

Sold out Jesus-freak, mom of 2, wife, Christian Life Coach and speaker, friend-in-need-of-grace, writer of stuff.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

