Post Format

Filtered through God: a 20/20 vision.

Leave a Reply

For the first time in my life, I am feeling a very distinct approval from God.  I can’t really explain it entirely, and I know that I always have God’s love, no matter how deeply embedded in a big huge mess I might be.  I know that.  But right now, I can’t seem to shake this feeling the God is well pleased with me.

I revel in this.  And I’m not saying I’m perfect, by any means.  It’s more that when I mess up (which is often) I am more aware of it, less distressed about it, and quicker to bring it to Him to rectify it.  It’s like the lines of communication are wide open in a generous, open-hearted relationship, and we are free to discuss things of the past from the healthier perspective that a little distance can give.

Today in my daily devotional, He revealed something about me — about my past behavior and yes, even my present state — and where in the past I may have taken this as rebuke on His part and massive failure on mine, today, the gentleness, the pleasure I sense that we both get from our relationship makes it simply something to examine, to move over my psyche’s tongue, to ponder and become enlightened.  It is correction but somehow not rebuke; it is loving redirection and not discipline heavy with anger.

The devotional said this: “Many people are so preoccupied with future plans and decisions that they fail to see choices they need to make today.  Without any conscious awareness, they make their habitual responses…I will not leave you circling in deeply rutted paths.  Instead, I will lead you along fresh trails of adventure, revealing to you things you did not know.  Stay in communication with me.”

As soon as I read it, I saw myself.  Specifically in my business.  While having a huge vision and a big goal is important, sometimes the shadow of those big goals blind us to the choices that are right in front of us today — the ones we need to make to reach that big goal, to fulfill that huge vision.  Sometimes, even, that vision is blurry and unfocused, and the fog of tomorrow spills over onto the fan of today that could blow that steam away, clearing our sight for a 20/20 picture.

So everyday, while we pray about the big picture, we first must seek God.  Through the filter of God, we must ask Him what tasks, what direction, what action are we to take today to build toward that vision He placed in our heart.  We must turn the God-light onto the fog, let His warmth burn it off.  Then, and only then, can we really set out on the adventure of His lifetime, knowing full well that He, the author of the ultimate adventure series, is guiding our steps, clearing our path, and cleaning the lense of our vision with crystal clear brightness that can only come from Him.  In that place, from that place, we can move into today’s action, instead of freezing in the shadow of the looming vision before us.

That’s how progress is made.  That’s how we move forward.  Filter our choices throught God, THEN our vision.

And get ready for the adventure of a lifetime.

Posted by

Sold out Jesus-freak, mom of 2, wife, Christian Life Coach and speaker, friend-in-need-of-grace, writer of stuff.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

