Post Format

I can’t wait to tell you…

Leave a Reply

action item list

Starting something new isn’t easy.  Having a vision, a dream, and then doing the work to make it come to pass is a very different endeavor from, say, wishing you would win the lottery and dreaming about what you would do with the money.  The latter is probably way more fun, but it’s a lot more disappointing, too.

I have long believed that everyone has a God-purpose.  The sad part is that not everyone knows they have a God purpose.  Or perhaps they know they’re supposed to have one, but don’t know what it is.  Or they know what it is, but not what to do about it.  Or they know what to do about it, but have no idea how to start.

Well, sometimes you just have to start.  Right there.  In the middle.  Where it doesn’t make sense.  You have to jump in and ask the question, do the research, take the action and soon enough, things will start happening.  You’ll feel your equilibrium is off for most of the time.  You might even feel dizzy and metaphorically unstable.  This is good.  Believe it or not, it probably means you’re on the right track.

Keep going!  If you’re scared, keep going!

You will run the gamut of emotions, most likely.  There will be days you’ll feel completely defeated because every. single. filmmaker you talk to turns down your project.  But then one day a talented high school kid and his Godly parents show up at your house not even expecting to get paid and you get to tell him oh yes, you get paid.  And you are both happy.

Or your idea is not clear in your head but you begin to write down your notes and talk to people write some more and plan and write some more and one day you’re loading the dishwasher and the picture becomes perfectly clear in your head, like it was there all along and someone just moved the curtain aside so you could finally see it.

There will be questions swirling in your head and tons of stuff you don’t know and don’t know even who to ask.  There will action item lists and you don’t know where to start.  There will be moments you think it’s all pointless.  Don’t give up.  Keep going.  Do. Not. Give. Up.

Today, right now, I am terrified.  For two reasons.  One, I just looked at what my Crossfit workout is going to be.  I want to not go, but I know I have to.  But I’m terrified.

And I’m terrified because I think this thing that I’m doing — this new, exciting, scary thing — is happening.  I have no idea if I can make it work.  But I’m all about trying.

I can’t wait to tell you about it.

You can do your thing, too.  I promise.  You can.

Posted by

Sold out Jesus-freak, mom of 2, wife, Christian Life Coach and speaker, friend-in-need-of-grace, writer of stuff.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

